Header image  
Holistic Health Center
line decor
   Home | About | Counseling | Chinese Herbs | Energy Healing | Chakras | Testimonials | Contact
line decor

What are Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel.  In ancient India it was discovered that the human body contained energy.  This energy existed all throughout the body, and tended to accumulate in seven primary areas.   Each of these areas of concentrated energy, which became known as chakras, lie along the center of the body, from the base of the spine to the head.  Indeed, the chakras are round, like a wheel.  They extend out about five inches from the body.  They are narrow near the body, and expand as they move away, until they reach their maximum size of approximately three inches in diameter.  Chakras spin, and it is for this reason that a chakra is often referred to as a vortex.  Chakras, or vortexes of whirling energy, represent both physical locations in the body, and certain qualities.     

The seven major chakras start at the bottom of the body with the base chakra.  Located at the base of the spine, the base chakra orients downward.  This chakra connects us to the energy of the earth.  It helps to “ground” us.  This chakra governs the quality of survival. 

The second chakra is located approximately two inches below the navel.  This chakra is called the sex chakra, or sacral chakra, due to its location in the area of the sacrum.  This chakra governs sexuality, creativity and emotions. 

The third chakra is located at the solar plexus.  This chakra is called the solar plexus chakra.  The solar plexus is found underneath the sternum in the space between the lowest ribs.  This chakra governs personal power.  When a person exercises willpower, this chakra is activated and provides the necessary energy.  This chakra also governs ego. 

The fourth chakra, called the heart chakra, is located in the center of the chest at the level of the heart.  This chakra governs love of all types.  This includes love of self, love of others, and love of creator. 

The fifth chakra is the throat chakra.  It is located in the center of the throat.  This chakra governs communication and self-expression.  Concrete mental functioning is also governed by this chakra. 

The sixth chakra is the known as the third eye.  Located in between the eyebrows, this chakra governs clairvoyance and other forms of extrasensory perception.
The seventh and final chakra is the crown chakra. The crown chakra is located at the top of the head.  Its orientation is upward.  This chakra governs spirituality.  Its upward orientation connects us to sky energy as well as to the creator.  Connection with angels occurs largely through this chakra as well.  This upward-oriented chakra provides the polar balance to the downward-oriented base chakra.


The chakra cumulative vibrate energy outward to collectivey form the aura.  The aura extends all around the body about five inches. 

Chakras can malfunction.  You can fix them. 

For more information about chakras and healing yourself, purchase Energy Healing for Everyone at energyhealingforeveryone.com, or sign up for distance courses in Energy Healing at missionenergyhealing.com.